FREE SHIPPING ON ALL U.S. ORDERS  |  SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE RECYCLING

0

Your Cart is Empty

How to Remove an Account Lock

Removing your iCloud account

If you still have your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Before you sell or give away your device, you should remove your personal information. You shouldn't manually delete your contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photos, or any other iCloud information while you're signed in to iCloud with your Apple ID. This would delete your content from the iCloud servers and any of your devices signed in to iCloud.

On your device with iOS 10 or later, make sure that you sign out of iCloud before you erase your device.

Follow these steps:

  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your device.
  3. Sign out of iCloud and the iTunes & App Store. 
    • If you're using iOS 10.3 or later, tap Settings > [your name]. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.
    • If you're using iOS 10.2 or earlier, tap Settings > iCloud > Sign Out. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My [device] and enter your Apple ID password. Then go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > Apple ID > Sign Out.
  4. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password.
  5. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase [device].
  6. Contact your carrier for help transferring service to a new owner. If you aren't using a SIM card with your device, you can contact them to get help transferring service to the new owner.

When you erase your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, Find My iPhone and Activation Lock is turned off. 

If you no longer have your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

If the steps above weren't completed and you no longer have your device, use these steps:

  1. Ask the new owner to erase all content and settings using the above steps.
  2. If you're using iCloud and Find My iPhone on the device, sign in to iCloud.com or the Find My iPhone app on another device, select the device, and click Erase. After the device has been erased, click Remove from Account.
  3. If you can't follow either of the above steps, change your Apple ID password. This won't remove personal information that's stored on your old device, but it prevents the new owner from deleting your information from iCloud.
  4. If you're switching to a non-Apple phone, deregister iMessage
  5. If you're using Apple Pay, you can remove your credit or debit cards at iCloud.com. Choose Settings to see which devices are using Apple Pay, then click the device. Next to Apple Pay, click Remove.

To sign out of a Samsung account:

  1. Tap Settings > [General tab] > [Accounts] > Samsung account.
  2. Tap the name of the account you want to sign out from, and then tap Remove account.
  3. When you sign out of your Samsung account, you will be signed out from all Samsung services connected with your Samsung account at the same time.

To Remove your Google Account:

  1. Go to device Settings.
  2. Scroll down to "Accounts" or "Accounts and Sync".
  3. Tap "Google" (or any other accounts, such as Facebook, Messenger, Snapchat, etc you wish to sign out from)
  4. Tap the Gmail account you want to sign out of.
  5. Tap the "More" option (or the 3-dot menu) found at the top right corner of the screen.
  6. Then select "Remove" or "Remove account" option.

Note that you may not be able to do this if you have this email address as your main email address for your account, since it's likely that Google Play will use this account. If you wish to remove your main account, then your only option is to do a factory reset of your device. 

Signing off a Google Account Remotely

  1. Go to myaccount.google.com
  2. Click on "Device activity & notifications"
  3. Click on "Review Devices". Here you will be able to see all the device you're signed into
  4. Lastly, click on the device that you wish to sign out of, and click "Remove".

SIGN UP AND RECEIVE $5 OFF

Tetchy Tech Newsletter all hands in community discounts